Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Controversial topics are psychological. It totally depicts the experience of people. Everyone person in the world has their own set of beliefs which they create based upon their personal experience. To understand another perspective, one has to be liberal in believing others and understanding their story. Therefore, Controvial topic discussion may not be useful with a contrasting view as particular perception or thought totally depend upon a personal journey and opposition may refuse to accept it as fact.

Everyone person is different. They had a different life, went through different levels of struggle. Therefore have a different visions to see the world. Controversial topic based upon someone life also has another angle to see. If we discuss have a discussion about the topic maybe people will not agree. Some may have a contrasting view. Restrain to believe that it could also happen. Well, no one is wrong over here. Putting your own view may seem contradictor to the world. But, no one is wrong in their beliefs. Such as, Take an example of Destiny, though high-level psychological subject it is. Some belive that we can be change our destiny. We can create our future, while some say that they don't believe. Destiny can't be changed. . This topic is subjective. It totally depend upon what both side person has experience. And based upon their own personal beliefs, they are stick to their point which seem to contradict and for them to change their view seem to be quite hard because this what life has taught them. One has to be liberal in things to accept the fact and change our own beliefs and view.

Secondly, It is totally about human nature. Some people are so stubborn intentionally that they debate rigorously. So doctrine to their believe and knowledge that they think no one can prove it wrong. In such a case, a person stand firmly to it own point and refute to show a slight inclination toward other side. As in News channel debate, where discussion done on public benefit, opposition stand againts all good thing done for public. Opposition will definitely deny actual and pratical fact and don't accept it

Well, It is not the case every time, some open-minded people do respect other perspectives. Based on the fact of the topic, they do believe to change their view. As in nature of Good Leader. They understand everyone view, respect everyone thought. If found to be in benefit of all. Leader look for other view.

Hence, Discussion of Controversial topic with open-minded people does not seem irritating. They put effort to understand other perspectives. But, discussion with those with a contrasting view may seem quite hard to explain them and don't accept to change their view. Either they may it may be related to personal experience or having stubborn nature to only stick to their own belief.