Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Controversial topics highly rely on distinctive opinions of an individual. While having debates amongst our peers, there is always a clash between different approaches and beliefs of one another. In my opinion, I agree that conversing on controversial subjects gives no proper conclusion as majority of humans tend to stick to their own beliefs.

From our childhood to the very end, our core values are inclucated based on our upbringing. We spend our early years with our friends and family members in a custom environment and follow certain rules and traditions that stay with us for the rest of our lives. For example, People from Asian countries go on voyage to various other countries and yet follow their customs and traditions. They celebrate their festivals according to their mythology and follow what was been taught to them from the very beginning. Just because they acknowledge other ways of living, see and listen to the various 'contrasting views', it is not necessary that they will change their core values and beliefs.

Controversial topics end exactly where they start. The issue stays exactly where it was at the beginning but the only difference is that the people conversing the problem are affected. For instance, while fighting for a ban on wearing a hijab, the members of the parliament having different core belief constantly argue with each other and the outcome of the controversy never gets resolved. If obligated certain repurcussions will affect the society.

In the end, delicate topics leading to arguments due to the contrasting views is of no use. It is very less likely that a person would change his or her mindset while resolving a controversy. Every individual has the their own right towards their core values and beliefs.