Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

When broaching topics that are otherwise contentious with those who have conflicting opinions can yield in futile results because of the fact that those who hold their opinions firmly are very less likely that they will have the patience to listen to other side of the story. I completely agree with the prompt that very few people will change their mind when their core beliefs are attacked and called into question by other people.

To embark on, there is a high possibility that the core beliefs, ideals and their habits are entrenched over the years. They are very less likely to listen to the other arguments asserting themselves in a domineering way that whatever they ideals think or hold up is true to their belief. They are not open to counterarguments and won't even dare to listen to the other plausible views of people on the same topic. For example, in the series of events following Russian annexation of Crimea in 2014, many stalwarts of Kremlin had an element of disdain - refusing to listen to the Ukrainian defense or Western world's cry over the illegal annexation of Crimea. Moreover, such people who have differing views on heated topics tend to believe that they are right either morally or socially. Those instances often turn into quarrelous arguments.

Furthermore, those people who hold unconventional views regarding a topic are taken by a fallacy that whatever their core beliefs are unassailable and those core beliefs can act as a rubric for the society they live in. For instance, many of the young brits have not come with terms to accept their colonial past and still believe that Britain ruled India for the benefit of the subcontinent and never plundered India, on the contrary the fact is that in the name of free trade, The Britishers, looted India, they smashed the loons of weavers so that they couldn't practice their craft, they imposed punitive duties and taxes while lifting the duties on the export of British cloth and they achieved a captive market at a point of gun. While those people who hold contrasting views also get convinced that the other side of the story is unfounded. They live in the falsehood that whatever they believe is how the society or government should run and that's how world should function.

However, some people who hold contrasting views are open to any criticism and eager to rectify the flaws pointed out by different party. It really depends upon the nature of individual but a wise, staid and courteous person would always be open to the antithetical views and would have the patience to listen to the opposing view and would have the courage to accept it even if that opposing view attack his/her cherished beliefs. For example, when Bill Gates saw the fingers pointing on him for introducing the phrase "Data is the new oil for tech barons, and iPods are useless because they don't use data", he calmy accepted the opposing views of the audience and ruminated back on that conflicting view and came back with enhancements in his products and made those changes which propelled Apple to it's current status in the market

In nutshell, it is very likely and I firmly believe that people who hold opposite views are intransigent and go to any extent to prove their point of view. Although, their viewpoint can be seen as dogmatic, or often assertive, those people can even go for a war to protect their core beliefs. A handful of those are willing to listen and make amends or changes in their views.