"The drawbacks to the use of nuclear power mean that it is not a long-term solution to the problem of meeting ever-increasing energy needs."

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence and/or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

The nuclear power cannot be considered as an alternative energy source because of major drawbacks. Certainly, every energy source has different advantages and disadvantages nevertheless nuclear power gets the last place in the list since its flaws tend to be bigger than its benefits for human purposes. In order to support this position it important to account for environmental issues, security aspects and financial analysis.

First of all, the quimical reactions needed to produce nuclear energy suppose a thread for the plant-workers and human neighbors. The best example history can give us is Chernobyl, since this accident was caused by a human mistake made on the maintanance of one of the machines inside the plant, it is probable that it will happen again with other nuclear plants build in the future. The far-reaching effects this massive explosion had in terms of deaths and generations of people injured or with sickness, outcost any possible profits this kind of energy may had.

Secondly, environmental contamination is a serious aspect to consider. The waste produced by this plants is radioactive and cannot be handled easily as other byproducts coming from energy sources like fossil fuels, water and sun. A bad waste management of nuclear plants may cause irreversible consequences on living creatures nearby and nature. For instance, water sources or land might be contaminated and become unuseful for agricultural purposes, hence affecting food security for towns surrounding the nuclear plant. Additionally, since the waste must be allocated somewhere, the place chosen for this objective will be forever damaged and might not be able to be used for anything else in the future.

Third, for nuclear power to be a long-term solution it must meet cost-benefit analysis for companies to invest in it. In order to install the facilities required, meet the security requirements and efficiently produce energy, a company planning on investing in nuclear energy must consider if it will be profitable to take part in this business. Since nuclear energy is not a newable discovery, it is not by chance that most energy companies are not investing on nuclear sources. The reason behind this is that normal costs that come with installing a nuclear plant plus the potential costs of any accident or explosion cannot be outweighted by the income of producing this type of energy.

In conclusion, while nuclear reactions might produce good quality energy, this process comes with serious dangers that potentially costs more than companies are willing to risk in generating power. Furthermore, the impact of nuclear waste on environment and living beings is extremely bad generating death, sickness, malformations among the ones near a nuclear plant.