The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To prepare the new generations of leaders cooperation is needed because for leadership to work the members of the team have to be prepared to work together, help each other and produce synergy inside the different companies or institutions.

Moreover, cooperation supposes a person a kind of altruism and asks oneself to put in the place of others, also to know how to communicate our own needs to our mates and listen to others' requests effectively facilitating the achievement of goals. All of these things are soft skills that all good leaders generally have.

Nevertheless, soft skills are not alone in the profile of a leader, hard skills such as analytical thinking, problem-solving, intelligence, and other abilities that government and other industries look up to in their bosses' search for their companies.

To develop hard skills, competition plays an important role, it leverages the abilities and talents of children and young people. This happens because human beings when founded in a competitive environment push themselves towards effectiveness, and rapid thinking, and activates certain attitudes in people that wouldn't arise in other conditions.

For instance, nowadays from a young age, we are faced with awards and acknowledgment just from our family or from our teachers, friends, and others. When we enter school there are competitions, contests, scholarships, awards, and other activities in which we are put to test in comparison to others which allows the formation of good skills in different aspects.