Education should be equally devoted to enriching the personal lives of students and to training students to be productive
Education as a process of learning and acquiring knowledge enables individuals to be able to face and conquer the
challenges that life presents so as to be able to live a comfortable and fulfilling life, this is especially expressed
when the student is trained enough to be productive, hence education should be mainly devoted to training students to be
productive workers.
Firstly, focusing students education on helping them to be more productive allows them to focus on whatever area of
expertise they choose to delve into. For example a medical student will need utmost concentration in the area of the
human anatomy and shouldn’t deviate into areas of personal lives considering how important, vast and delicate
medicine is. A diligent doctor will need to be at his/her best seeing that medicine deals with human lives.
Therefore complete focus is needed when it has to do with educating the student to be productive workers.
Secondly, education cost money and time which are mainly borne by the parents and sometimes the government, so it is a
a form of investment in which results is expected to be produced. Educating students for the sole purpose of being
productive workers will allow for a tangible return on investment from which the student, the parents of the student and
the society will benefit. therefore educating the students to be productive workers is more resaonable in terms of
making good, the resources of time and money invested in it.
It is true that education should be all rounded and should also include areas that enrich the personal lives of students,
but these form of education comes naturally as the child grows. It happens as the parents interact with the student, and as
the students interact with the society hence there need not be a special dedication of education to enriching lives of students.
In all, the personal lives of students is concurrently enriched as the students are being taught to be productive workers,
so more devotion should be given to training the students to be productive workers.