Education should be equally devoted to enriching the personal lives of students and to training students to be productive workers

Education is the golden key by which one gathers a whole new perspective of life. But if education is only limited to theoretical knowledge then it is of no use. Rather a balance between practical and life oriented knowledge considering one’s needs should be imparted to the students in order to make them truly educated.

From elementary school to undergrad or even post-graduation , we learn so many things in life. Knowledge is a never ending sea . But how much of these learnings actually influenced our life is a major question . Our traditional educational system only focuses on passing the exams. Neither this thing helps in our work life nor in personal life. An educated person needs to be morally rich as well as possess a good character . A good character build up is one of the most important aspect of education. For example, kids are taught more moral stories in elementary school because it is their best time for personal development.

There is another hard truth is only being a good person doesn’t always earn you everything. You have to be skilled,diligent in your work. There is no doubt great books can shape our minds but in order to cope with the practical world we need skilled workers. If education doesn’t provide this opportunity of developing practical skills then we won’t have graduates who will change the world. Not only productive training helps in professional life ,but also it helps in preparing someone for his own life. If you don’t know how to deal with real life challenges then survival would be hard for you. Thus we need both moralizing and useful education equally.

If we think of productive training as fully field level training then may be academics won’t need that much time spent in those things .They might have to concentrate more on theoretical studies. Thus in some cases we should realize the priorities too. Not everyone needs everything . As an example, a doctor or engineer may need more of practical training but if we think of a philosopher, he might need less professional focus.

Undoubtedly education should be theoretical and practical both but it should focus in the needs of the person . So education shouldn’t be devoted equally without considering the needs of everyone individually.