Education should be equally devoted to enriching the personal lives of students and to training students to be productive workers

Education, the process of gaining knowledge has a significant role to play in molding one's character. Current education system majorly focuses on the second half of the issue statement i.e., making them productive workers. Since, it is inevitable for every human to be a part of social fabric; focus should be equally given to developing the personal aspects of the student’s life.

Human is dependent on others for any purpose. These relationships play a vital role in one's personal and career development. Current education focuses on the career development making them appropriately skilled for their intended profession. But no person is going to work all the day. Every one need time to rejuvenate their mind and body. Teaching them various hobbies and involving them in social work and volunteering will help to achieve wonders in their personal lives. For example, for a student who aspires to become a political scientist, it is necessary to teach them human values and morals. These additional teaching helps him not only in his career but also in his personal life. He knows how to treat people with compassion and being empathetic towards fellow human beings. With the technological advancements where humans are getting detached from one another, taking these necessary actions is the need of the hour.

The aspect on being a productive worker should be tackled from the viewpoint of one's career. For instance, not everyone who is studying mechanical engineering will be designing and building machines in the future. Some are going to become mangers and some other will be entrepreneurs. A university which plans curriculum for these students should emphasize on developing well suited plan for their specific needs. Or in other terms, more practical exposure and less book reading should be the gist of the curriculum. For a computer engineering student, it is better to encourage him to develop an artificial intelligence program rather than merely teaching about it for hours. Only such kind of approach can lead them to success in their future endeavors.

In conclusion, to have a balanced life and career the education system should focus on developing both their personal and professional life.