Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement claims that educational institutions ought to justify the students’ future success base on their choice of the field of study. Surely educational institutions play an important role in the forming future of students. Although, these institutions know characteristics of students and have knowledge about the future of the various field of studies, creating a bias on a specific field of study will cause students to decide incorrectly.

The statement attempts to bridge the success of students to accepting the advice of educational institutions. The assumption is that these institutions could suggest the best field of study base on students’ personality and skills. One could argue that dissuading students from a particular field of study will benefit students from less time and money consumption for education along with the most chance of success at future, but this argument does not consider that all people do not have a unique imagination of success.

However, confining students to a specific field of study will deprive them of a holistic view of their studying major. Considering an artificial intelligence student at a university who only studied computer vision and did not know how it is related to mobile development, consequently mentioned person will lose many job positions opportunities that need a computer vision programmer for Android devices.

In contrast to the statement, studying various fields of study helps students to familiarize with other aspects and applications of their discipline. For example, computational neuroscience is a multidisciplinary field that students need computer programming and neuroscience knowledge. Moreover, studying brain functions inspire new computer algorithms. Therefore, different fields of study can inspire students to produce new ideas and also can lead them to find new interest for follow up in their future.

Ultimately, encouraging students to pursue an only limited field of studies have a negative effect on their success. Educational institutions should provide sufficient facilities for students to study different fields and bring them adequate knowledge for choosing a favorite field.