Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement gets at the heart of a complex issue: who should be responsible for a person's choices in their education? Is it themselves, their school, or even their parents? In this essay, I will discuss how an intervention from an education institution shapes a person's career, for the better or worse, and in doing so, I will attempt to answer the posed question. I will limit my discussing to high schools and universities, as kids in elementary and middle school are too young to make such decisions.

A student transitioning from high school to university undergoes signification changes. Take me as an example: I flunked math in high school, reading major philosophical works instead, but instead of pursuing humanities, I enrolled in a computer science program. Two years later, I successfully published a scientific paper containing advanced math, which I could not have imagined as a high school student. Hence, if my math teachers tried to intervene in my selection of a major, swaying me from studying a math-heavy subject, I might have never found my true passion. High school teachers should let the interests of their students mature naturally; artificial interventions run the risk of dissuading students from pursuing higher education, making them hate their field of study.

Contrary to high school teachers, professors teaching specialized courses at a university might be better equipped to advise students in their future choices. If a student encounters great difficulties in understanding a particular subject that can be attributed to a lack of talent as opposed to a lack of interest or effort (as was my case at high school), letting the student fail over and over until they are completely burned out is of a great disservice to their future careers. Professors are responsible for nurturing the natural talents of their pupils. Therefore, they should gently guide their students through the diverse selection of courses available at a university. However, I am not arguing for professors taking full responsibility for students' choices, hence the word "guide", because one of the essential skills a higher education can teach a student is the ability to decide for themselves.

In summary, depending on the level of education, schools should have no or only limited responsibility to control their students' choices of fields of study. As I demonstrated with my high school story, dissuading students from pursuing subjects that they fail at in high school might hinder their future development. Finally, I argue that the choice of the field of study falls ultimately on the student, as it is vital that they own up to their decisions.