Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

University education strongly influences the course of a person's life. Therefore, it is paramount to expose university students to many topics and worldviews through a varied selection of courses. Such students will be more adept in dealing with the problems our society faces as well as bring novel ideas into their field of study.

Navigating current political discourse is difficult. It seems that studying only one subject, be it the american literature or computer science, deos not suffice when engaging in debates, as the complex problems we are facing require complex solutions spanning many fields. I believe it is the duty of university to produce graduates who can draw on their knowledge of arts, humanities and sciences to propose such solutions. A computer scientist should be able to asses the dangers of a new technology he or she is developing in terms of psychology or social sciences. Likewise, a journalist should avoid stoking unwarranted fears about a new invention in artificial intelligence by having an elementary knowledge of maths and statistics. We can only achieve this by sacrificing some of the students' rights to choose their curriculum, as they need to spend a considerable amount of time studying subjects peripheral to their major.

The most obvious conterargument, especially applicable in countries without free public colleges, is that students, who pay huge amounts of money and sacrifice many years of their life to acquire a degree, should have a complete freedom in choosing what they study as long as it fulfils the bare minimum for graduating in a field of their choice. I disagree with treting the college degree as a commodity. Our society should hold college graduates in high standard, as some of them will be the future leaders in academia, business and politics. Putting a college degree on your resume should signify that you passed a comprehensive selection of courses making you equipped to tackle all sorts of challenges, not that you only studied topics that you found interesting at the time or that were the easiest to understand. Discounting on the requirements for graduating college would not only lower the trust of emplyers in college degrees, but also hurt the graduates ability to come up with new ideas.

As a scientist, I can attest that finding a new insight in my work often requires a completely different angle of thinking. However, viewing a problem from a new perspective is difficult because we are enclosed in a bubble--our field of interest. One can often break through the bubble by studying a completely different subject. Mastering a new field involves understanding novel abstract concepts, which can in turn provide the inspiration needed to come up with breakthrough solutions celebrated for their astounding originality. The ability to link high-level concepts from different field should be cultivated throughout college education, as it is the best time--and perhaps the only time--one can devote most of their waking hours to in-depth study of many disciplines.

To conclude, studying a wide range of courses at the university brings numerous benefits such being able to dicuss and propose solutions to complex issues we face as a society as well as stimulating the creativity to come up with unique solutions to long-standing problems. Therefore, the choice of courses should not be left entirely to the students, the university should enforce appropriate variety.