Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutions should not have a responsibility to hinder students from pursuing their fields on study. At first glance, this responsibility seems to be the best way to keep students on the appropriate track for success in their professional careers. However, a closer examination of the issue shows how detrimental this kind of responsibility will be to the students' academic success and growth.

To bear this type of responsibility, schools would need a way to effectively and efficiently evaulate what is defined as failure and success. There are times where schools only know what results the current methods represent. Students can overcome their disabilities and shortcomings with hardwork and determination. If it was the responsibility of the institutions he attended, Albert Einstein should have never became a scientist. Albert Einstein had dsylexia which should have prevented him from studying physics. If this were to happen, the world would have lost a great educator, teacher, and mentor.

But beyond the shortcomings of an effective way to gauge student success in a certain field, it is the choice of the students to have the free will to choose what they want to pursue. Without the freedom of choice, students will be hindered in their ability to grow as individuals by making the wrong choices and learning from their mistakes. If everything is predetermined, indidividuals would not be able to think critically and come up with their own solution when unexpected problems occur.

While it seems like schools should have the responsibility to choose for students so that they can success, there are detrimental drawbacks to this solution that would hinder the students growth and learning as they mature into adulthood. It would be irresponsible for educational instituitions to muddle the free will of students by predetermining the best path for a student's success.