The statement that a nation should have a requirement that all students are to have the same education seems like a efficient strategy to prepare them all for college. No student would be deficient in their studies when the nation has a uniformed curriculum. Every student would be taught at the same pace. Even students from different districts would be able to help each other to study for exams, do homework, and work on projects together. This would bring teamwork and form great relationships between schools.

However, a curriculum like this would leave behind students with learning disabilities. Students with autism would not be able to keep up with the intensity of a normal curriculum. These students need to have specialized courses geared toward their needs or they will be left behind. If a nation just focused on maintaining the speed on the curriculum, students with learning disabilities will not benefit from this change. Students with learning disabilities can be a great asset to a nation. Albert Einstein had dsylexia but that did not stop him from becoming one of the greatest scientist in modern day science.

On the other side of the spectrum, there are students that excel at subject areas and can learn at extraordinary speeds compared to the average student. This kind of curriculum would hinder their potentials for growth and learning all for the sake of maintaining the set pace of learning. These remarkable students could excel at areas outside of the national curriculum, but would not be able to develop their innovative ideas that could be a solution to existing problems.

Besides the two extremes, school districts would not be able to cater to their demographic of students. Different demographics have different learning and cultural needs in order to be taught well. Schools that have spent decades in a district have the wisdom to discern specific methods that would only work in their school district. Depending on the city and country, a school district in one area can have a completely different culture than their neighboring district. Therefore, one set national curriculum would hinder their ability to teach their students properly.

At first glance, a set national curriculum sounds like a great strategy to keep all students on the same pace and guarentees every student starts at the same starting line. But, as we dig deeper into the issue, multiple glaring issues arise that would hinder the growth of the very students we aimed to educate properly. A national curriculum would not just hinder students, but stunt the growth of a nation.