Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Many times, the scientific research and development fields hit a wall with the restrictions that the government has placed on their experiments. If only there were less rules, them the experiments could run it's full course and be able to discover something new. Even though these restrictions are in place, there are proper and good reasons why the rules are there. If scientific research and experiments are left to go amok, many participants would be harmed physically and mentally.

In the 18th and 19th century, there were little to no rules and restrictions in place for scientific experimentation. Scientists were able to design and proceed in doing experiments without much hinderance. Many of these experiments proved to be harmful to its participants. During the Stanford Prison experiment, half the participants were made to be prison guards and the other half were prisoners. As this experiment proceeded, the prison guards started to abused their power and psychically and mentally abused the prisoners with flogging, stripping them down, and torturing them. Due to the lack of rules and regulations, many of the prisoners had trauma and nightmares from the events that took place that should have never happened if there were sound guidelines. Now, there are guidelines in place that if physical or mental violence were the occur, then the experiments would be started immediately.

Even beyond trauma and physical violence, test subjects could be killed or physically and mentally incapacitated from lawless scientific experiments. In movies, there is sometimes a mad scientist who is trying to make a great achievement all in the name of science with little to no regard for human life. He or she will stop at nothing for the sake of discovery. Imagine if real life scientists had no accountability for their experiments. They could commit atrocities like murder and torture all in the cover of scientific research and development.

While it is clear now the drawbacks of having few to no restrictions on scientific research and development would not be ethical. It is wise of the governments to place rules and regulations on scientific research after seeing the horrors of unfettered experiments.