Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutions comprise a substantive part of a student's present as well as future life. So, it is indeed the responsibility of an institution to provide good counselling to the students so that they can bring out their best possible forte. In this endeavor of institutions, keeping the students from studying a course, which they probably will find hard to succeed is an intelligent decision.

To provide a good counselling, there must be a dedicated team of experts who help the students in discerning their weak points and strengths in order for them to make wise choices. The college can organize seminars and other activities to analyse the aptitudes and behaviour of students. Based on the results, they can provide a subset of courses to the student, skipping those that they feel will be difficult for the student to pursue. For example, after examning the behaviour of a student, if it is clear that he is lacking the leadership qualities, then it seems sensible to refrain him from taking an MBA course. Rather, the expert might have noticed other qualities, like good technical skills, so he can be aligned in a specialized technical course.

If every student in a college is happy because of him being able to score good on his assignments and exams, there will be an enthusiastic and friendly atmosphere in the institution. Seniors will be able to help the juniors. This will bring out a good reputation of the college as well.

Some people can although malign the institution's reputation, if this responsibility is not managed in a balanced way. If the students are coerced into a different course from their likings, they will start believing that institution is biased and looking for its own profits only. So there must be a well defined boundary on the amount of demotivation being given for a particular course to a student, so that he doesn't turn into vilifying the institution.

In conclusion, it is a sincere attempt, if an institution feels responsible in making the careers of students and in that efforts, sometimes dissuades the students from pursuing a particular course.