Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Predominantly successful careers are results of years of passionate hard work. This can be seen for many former leaders and one of whom is Abraham Lincoln. Despite coming from humble start and being subjected to haughty disregards in his earlier years, his passion catapulted him to be one of the great presidents. On the other hand, if institutes discourages students from pursuing their field of interest just on the basis of poor academic performance then long term implications may not be propitious. It is certainly difficult to judge a person's capabilities solely on academic prowess and even some attain success very late in their careers. For what it is worth, we can certainly agree that people pursuing field not within their interest do not have fulfilling careers and often do not realise their full potential.

Educationists should play their role as mentor and guide for the students. Which means helping them to become a version of themselves and not as something they perceive as success. That part should be left to job consultants and HR of companies. Rather than dissuading, teachers must assist struggling students in overcoming their weakness and lacking.

The scenario is not completely black and white though. In extreme cases, it becomes obvious to redirect a student's interest. Major physical disabilities may prevent a student to become an athlete and it the responsibility of the institution to guide him/her to a more pragmatic or suited field. Likewise, it also quixotic for seniors in college to change major on a whim during their final semester. With that said, certain regulations must be enacted to maintain a standard system.

All in all, dissuading students from seemingly failing career paths is in not necessarily status quo of success. Schools and colleges have the responsibility to nurture well rounded graduates through provision of conducive learning environment and not by micromanaging every nooks and crannies of choices students make.