Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Education is a basic write that should be entitled to all citizens of a nation. Term as such will rarely go uncontested since people in ever digitilized world veiw education as primary pathway to success. Some people on the left of political spectrum even promote free universal education system. One notable example is the

US senator Bernie Sanders. Though on first hearing is seems to be laudable and noble idea for government (in an ideal world it really is!), more constructive must be asked on the viability in the real world.

Free education is a rare sight to see in the world today, especially in the tertiary education setors. Such is not well without justifiable reasons. Formost, we can say the cost of higher education is mammoth! With increasing sophisticated researches and number of students, the cost running an university is a daunting figure indeed. It can be potraited more clearly as we observe the investment patterns in the third world countries. Governments are recultant to make any significant budget for higher education sector due to lack of funds and prioritize on more fundamental needs of the nation, such as food production and security. Indeed, provision of free college or university education is a far fetched thought for these nations. Financial challenges are also a factor for developed countries and surprisingly for similar reasons. There are plethora of issues that supplants the need of the free higher education. For instance if a country like UK decides to invest on free college education then government may not be able to maintain funds for NATO and can put national security in precarious situation.

Even is a nation successfully implement free higher education, there are no guaranttee on long term benifits. More people will be achieving professional degrees and can create a surplus of overqualified college graduates. The term 'overqualified' also goes a long way since coutries before have faced issues of unemployment during recessions such as during the great depression era. It is also the duty of the government to oversee that talented indivduals are incentivised properly. Certainly, if everyone gets a free pass, merit will certainly lose a lot of its prominence. Infact, students will not be eager to be sedulous if the end treatment and benifits are same for everyone. It is exclusively better to make tuition cuts based on merits.

Yet in the real world we can see countries like Germany and many scandanevian countries implement free education in tertiary level. These countries have the proper fund management and economic senario to carry out such feat. Consequently, they also enjoy greater returns in form of higher skilled workers that are trained through free education. Though it is to be accepted such senarios are not improbable, it must be remembered inplementing free education is not viable for all countries.