An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia – the scent of lavender flowers – has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Author's paragraph provides us with information on a traditional medication which is touted to cure insomnia. Although, it cannot be bluntly proven that lavender is not an effective medication, it can be also said that the information in paragraph does nothing to provide solid supporting information for its claim. Biggest of flaws pertains around the topic of experiment itself, which is experimenting on ancient form of medication. The dubious methodology and the lack of background information regarding the experiment also send clear signals to audiences on its incompetence as solid written specimen. In addition, the certain terms stated by the author are vague and are left to the imaginations of readers. Based on these grounds the passage will be scrutinized in the following paragraphs.

Words such as 'ancient' and 'traditional' are off putting when intended purpose of the passage it to present viable cutting edge medication option for insomnia. Such words can clearly describes the medication form to be archaic and mostly likely ineffective in comparison to its modern contemporaries. The author also takes the liberty to state that the medication has been proved to be effective only recently/ now. Author does nothing to specify to recentness of the experiment and again leaves it to the interpretation of the readers. Such capricious statements leaves readers bewildered and confounded right at the very beginning.

Second sentence describes that the patients where 'electronically' monitored in 'controlled' environment. Again author does not to be specific in supporting those words. No reasoning is provided in selection and the number of volunteers chosen. Why 30, why not other number? Electronic monitoring can mean many things from recording the brain activity to observing bowel movement of the volunteers. Similarly, controlled environment can mean many things, from quiescent sleeping environment to testing the effective of lavender inside sprawling sleeping inns right by the highway. The experiment was carried out in three weeks with each week volunteers where subjected to different levels of lavender exposure. Third to fifth sentence of the passage is more specific than rest of the passage, however approving it to be comprehensive will be an err. Author never validates on the duration of experiment and even non medical experts can argue that 3 weeks of medication for chronic cases is not logical in any shape or form.

Analysing further, it can also be observed the author never mentions any information to suggest any form of progress on volunteers' part. It is explicitly stated they felt tired even after inducing lavender. Author does state, the condition of insomnia worsens without lavender treatment, yet this does not prove anything on the curing abilities of lavender. Furthermore, author again states the volunteers slept soundly which primarily can mean they were snoring. In this case it can be argued flippantly that they may not be afflicted with insomnia any more than they are afflicted with above average BMIs. Relating to previous sentence, anyone can counter argue on the method of selection of the volunteers since no information is provided.

It cannot be neglected that author at best has written a nascent passage on an unproven form of medication. To make atleast a persuasive passage, writer must provide name and qualification of any experts involved and validate the undertaking of such experiment by having expert consents. At very least the author should provide a compendium of the research method and strengthen its position by comparing it to alternatives. The use of strong words such as 'proven' and 'short period' (as is the case in the last sentence) is highly inappropriate as it can be cogently argued that ancient form of medications does not have any scientific roots or background checks.

In closing remarks, the words present in passage itself can be sufficient to strongly refute the author's position. For instance, volunteers feeling tired and weakened. As such the readers can also notice the glaring dearth of solid evidences as discussed so far. As it is, the passage cannot be considered a staunch sample that elaborates a scientific study but rather as scribblings that fails to justify a pseudo scientific experiment on homeopathic treatment option. Limpidly, after reading the passage readers can conclude that lavender still remains as ancient and traditional as ever before.