Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and

explain how these consequences shape your position.

Currently, in top universities, there are a wide variety of courses to choose from. The students seldom get confused while opting for a field of study. This can be seen by the number of students who drop out of their courses every year. The number of students who don't opt for jobs in their field of study or tend to switch careers is also really high. This could be due to the lack of pay in that particular field. Their growth rate is far worse compared to those students who picked that field of study earlier.

The lower educational systems such as the high schools and the pre-universities must play a major role in encouraging the students to pick their field of study. The institution must expose the students to the corporate atmosphere by conducting seminars, hackathons, and industrial visits.

These kinds of events will help the students in narrowing down their options. There should be a platform where the students can easily contact their seniors and enquire about different courses.

While this kind of arrangement would certainly benefit those students willing to opt for mainstream subjects, it would hamper the confidence of those students who are looking at different fields. There could be many students who are targeting jobs that are not lucrative at the foresight. The institution must understand this diversity.

Therefore the institution must not make it mandatory for every student to pick a certain field but it should definitely encourage the students.