Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Whether students should choose fields of study that can make a lot of money, could be weighted in many aspects. However, the claim is problematic because the argument is based on generalization. The statement simply assumes that the life goal of all students is to be rich.

Admittedly, some of the students need to select profitable subject due to their poor economic status. This selection will be more confident to improve their life in the future. For example, students who are in debt do not have chances to risk. They must pick the work which has the lowest probability to lose money. Thus, in order to solve their dilemma, they should be encouraged to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

However, earning money is not the only purpose in our jobs. In general, a sense of accomplishment is another important factor. For instance, being athletes is often not a lucrative job. But it usually gains a lot of satisfaction after training or competitions. In addition, the more you like your work, the more success you will achieve. This enthusiasm can make you earn a lot and not merely a good material life. For this reason, encouraging students to select the field they do not be interested is not necessary.

Moreover, no one can guarantee which field can make you get a profitable career in the future. It is impacted by space and time background. Use deep learning technology as an example. It had been created before 1990 years. But it does not be popular over 20 years. The reason is that the data was not big enough and the speed of machine was not fast enough in that epoch. Yet the deep learning is the most famous algorithm not only in computer science field now. So it is hard to predict which field should be encouraged to choose for their better future.

In sum, the claim is not as persuasive as it stands. Although making the foregoing choice could indeed benefit students, not all students are same. Opting their suitable and interested fields of study is more critical. Therefore, I do not agree educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.