Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The topic of education has been at the centre of debates ever since the times of Aristotle and Plato. Even more heated has always been the question of what educators should evaluate more in students' learning. There are two apparently colliding approaches: some evaluate students by their knowledge of facts, while others stress the ability to explain ideas and reasons behind those facts.

While recommendation attempts to present two approaches as polar, they, in fact, complete each other: both can be organically present in any learning and assessing process. What is the use of knowing facts without being able to analyse them? - one can argue. But what is the merit of perfectly memorising the fundamentals of logical reasoning without applying them to the real world? The whole idea of the learning process is not only to know certain facts, let it be historical, mathematical or biological facts, but being able to develop analytical skills to enable students to see what stands behind these facts, question them, reveal certain trends, draw parallels with respective concepts based on information or data given. The same applies to the method of evaluation of students' knowledge. In the early '90s, the International Graduate Admission Committee hosted a conference with the ministers of education of participating countries, showing the results of analytical writing on history and historical chronology for the last 5 years. Some of the student's pool represented by certain countries consistently showed high scores for chronology but low scores when it came to analytical essays on a broad range of historical events. During discussions, the recommendation to revisit national curricula and methods of assessment was given. It was not a secret that education systems in those countries were extensively using the "learning by rote" approach, supported by the respective assessment. In this situation, students simply crammed their exams and half-terms or memorised information to get desired grades. As a result, assessment of factual knowledge only firmed certain students' behavior and eventually made them internationally uncompetitive and incapable of getting into top schools overseas. The recommendation was taken on board and the missing piece was introduced both in the education system and method of assessment. Consequently, the students of these countries managed to improve their scores in analytical essays just in 2 years.

The amalgamation of both assessment methods in education will benefit students in their future lives. Moreover, there are always certain areas where one dominates but does not exclude the other. No matter how good the analytical skills of the students of jurisprudence, encouraged and entrenched by educators who put a huge emphasis during the assessment on them, it hardly would help the same student when facing real-world scenarios. Imagine, that student during her PhD defence simulating a solicitor during the trial and defending the case by just showing off her knowledge of abstract concepts without the context applied or vice versa. That would be nonsense. This is what can happen if to distinguish the two approaches in question, preferring one to another in education.

To recap, the recommendation, which makes two methods of assessment sound like irreconcilable matters, is taken to an extreme. In fact, knowledge of facts and the ability to analyse these facts as well as assessing both aspects equally are not mutually exclusive, but rather complete each other. Used by educators in the assessment process, they both can create a synergy in education and make students' knowledge holistic.