Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

It is a known fact that private businesses are quintessential of a free market and despite the size can contribute a lot to the nation’s economy and community’s wellbeing. While the modern western societies rely on the “invisible hand” to regulate the market dynamics, such as demand and supply, in order for small businesses to thrive sometimes more than a minimal intervention of the government is needed.

To start with, government must make sure that there is a breeding ground for entrepreneurial spirit to merge and burgeon in first place. This can be achieved by putting in place respective regulations and mechanisms in place. No matter how many small and medium companies are there in the market, the number of giant monopolies are always existent. To be able to compete with bargaining powers of big brands and to get small businesses started and sustain, government shall provide legal regulations to prevent cartels, oligopolies, setting prices superficially and so on. By these “check and balance” measures governments provide equal starting opportunities for small businesses, eliminate superficial barriers to enter markets and overall keep healthy environment for economic growth.

Once auspicious environment for small businesses to get started are provided, government should make sure that small businesses are capable to thrive. The capacity and financial shortages of small businesses are limited, so the support of government is crucial. For example, in 2015 Azerbaijanian government launched a Scheme for funding start-ups and providing sponsors for tech start-ups. The huge a-la Silicon Valley lab was established in cooperation with National Academy of Advanced Technologies, so potential entrepreneurs can benefit from resources, facilities and expertise of professionals. The government eventually took it even further, by announcing a tax relief program for all tech start-ups, committing to support and develop their long-turn development.

Surely, governments should not make long-term commitments, but taking measures to support private businesses at their pre-mature or conceiving stage is necessary. The government shall, first, provide a healthy market and equal opportunities for entrepreneurial endeavours of private businesses in the market, second, enable newly formed small businesses until they can walk firmly on their own feet.