Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them.

The statement posits that educators should embrace student’s suggestions for their programs. While the inclusion of the students’ suggestions with regards to the planning of the curriculum may bring about some advantages, the educators should also consider the undesirable ramifications if this policy were to be implemented. Although I concur that students’ feedbacks are vital for educators to perfect their curriculum, educators should only accept constructive suggestions and sieve out those which does not help to ameliorate the current curriculum.

Curriculums provide a standardized teaching manual used for training students across a particular group. It also offers a level playing field in the assessment of a student. In search for uniformity in our educational systems, a standardized document is essential. For eg, students studying for their GRE exams are aware of the topics tested for their exams because of the documented areas of study. A curriculum makes this happen. Imagine a situation where an engineering student eliminates analytical writing from their GRE topics and only studies the quantitative part whereas an English major student eliminates the Quantitative part and only writes the verbal reasoning exam. How can these two people be equally assessed on their exams and also for their graduate school applications. A curriculum levels the playing field to this effect.

On the other hand, students feedback are an important aspect of teaching. A vibrant and happy student is an indicator of successful teaching. Incorporating topics after a thorough discussion will give the teachers a clear idea of what knowledge they want to acquire from their course. This will help to redress the curriculum accordingly. This creates a conducive environment where the teachers are content with imparting knowledge to students who are eager to learn. With time, students are opting to conduct their own research based on what they are being taught. Asking them about their expectations from a subject sets a goal for the teacher, who could modify their teaching methods and topics accordingly.

Incorporating students suggestions will allow their weaknesses to be addressed swiftly. In the current age, students do not only get information from their educators but from additional sources also. Students are more interested in their studies if they are provided with a curriculum that they have a predilection for. As such, with students being more willing to commit and study with alacrity, the educators will most definitely witness an improvement in their grades obtained. This will not only ease the educators’ troubles but also reduce the time taken to identify their students’ weaknesses.

In hindsight, although allowing students to make additions to their curriculum may heighten their enthusiasm for learning, one should consider the drawbacks such as oblique interests in certain areas of the curriculum.