The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The quality of life that is offered to the citizens of a country demonstrates how effective is the country’s leadership. A well sound government leaders, who take responsibility of improving their country’s living standards, take appropriate requires steps or measures to ensure that their goal is achieved. One can argue that in most of the democratic countries, the leadership is often changed over the course of time, and still the people of that country have a good living standard. However, it is often observed that in those countries, people elect the same leaders again who aim to improve their (citizens) quality of life.

“Leadership” is often considered as a whole, but it can be measured by diving it into multiple components and judge it accordingly. For instance, the overall administration of the government constitutes of various ministry like health, food, education etc. For a country like India, it is possible to produce high number of research aspirants, or engineers or other skilled people is because of its education system, which implies that the leaders of such department are doing a good job. It is very unlikely that even after having a poor administration or leadership, people enjoy their high living standards. On the other hand, the cost of basic amenities in India has meteorically risen. For example, People in India are upset of the rise of petrol prices even though the cost of crude oil in comparatively very low in the international market. Thus, the ineffectiveness of the leaders have directly impacted the life of the commons.

It can be easily noticed that the kind of the leader that a nation has, is a direct view of how it affects the life of the people. Dictatorship, being a form of “leadership, has led many countries to their economic downfall and debased the quality of life of those citizens. To exemplify, North Korea has dictatorship form of government. People are not allowed even to travel outside country without the leader’s approval. Most of the population is still struggling for basic needs of survival. The condition could have been completely opposite if the leaders were focused towards enhancing the living standards of their citizen. Furthermore, Syria, a country which his adversely hit by violence and destruction, has still not been able to bring acceptable standards of living. Thus, it becomes and unavoidable fact that the quality of life that the citizen are facing, emphasises more on the effectiveness of the leaders, rather than the type of leadership that a country has.

Even though the history enlightens that there were several countries who got their independence in same time period, a wide difference can be seen between the developed and developing countries. A poor leadership can destroy the hard earned development and pull it back to several decades as far as its growth is concerned. Although, the leaders of a country keep on changing with time, the change is the quality of wellness of the citizens is a clear indication of how good or bad a leaders are.