The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha rather than Zeta for our contemplated new building project."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that Company the development of a new building should be done by Company Alpha, and not Company Zeta. The author reaches to this conclusion based on some data of power consumption, maintenance cost, and the former company has stable workforce. The claim can possibly stand correct, but as for now there are several unstated assumptions that are made by the author in order to arrive at the conclusion.

Firstly, one of the reasons presented for choosing Alpha over Zeta is greater construction and maintenance cost involved in the building constructed by Zeta as compared to Alpha. Even though the author states that both the building have same floor plan, there is no evidence about the material used by both the companies. It is possible that company Zeta uses a premium quality of raw materials, such as cement and bricks, for construction which would definitely yield a better outcome but, would eventually cost more. Furthermore, the author complains about the maintenance cost of building constructed by Zeta is higher than of Alpha. The author assumes that the usage of these buildings remains same and the higher maintenance cost depends solely on the construction factor. However, Zeta constructed building could have been used more, and thus require more maintenance comparative to Alpha constructed building which is lesser used. Without the evidence for above mentioned assumptions, the author conclusion does not hold water.

Secondly, author uses the energy consumption of both the buildings as a factor of deciding between the companies. The author believes that the higher energy consumption of the Zeta building is only because of the construction factor and fails to supply evidence for the number of people that are using both the buildings. If there are a greater number of people using Zeta constructed building that Alpha constructed building, it would lead to increased energy consumption. This number is not under that call for a construction company. If the author can state with proof that there are equal number of users for both the buildings along with other construction independent factors, and still Zeta building consumes more energy, this would support the author’s claim of selecting company Alpha over Zeta.

Finally, the author compares the stability of employee workforce and turnover as a factor in preferring Alpha over Zeta. There are no supporting facts and arguments to prove that lesser turnover will lead to a better quality of constructed building. The higher turnover could be possibly because Zeta wants higher skilled employees replacing the lesser skilled employees. Although this decreases the stability of the company, it might enhance the throughput of company Zeta. Hence, author’s assumption of stability and turnover being a factor of preference is weakened by the absence of evidence supporting the actual reason of increased turnover in company Zeta.

In conclusion, while the author’s preference of company Alpha over Zeta can have better results, but as the argument stands now, is undermined because of the several unwarranted assumptions that the author makes before landing at the conclusion. If the author can provide evidence to support his assumptions, then it would lead to a better comparison between Alpha and Zeta, and would strengthen the author claims of choosing either one.