The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the memorandum presented by the business manager of Happy Pancake House, the manager proposed an assumption that the customer of the Pancake house are not able to differentiate between butter and margarine, or they refer both of these ingredients with same term “butter”. The manager reaches to the conclusion by assuming that after the change was made, from butter to margarine as the ingredient, only 2 percent of their customer have complained. Also, he assumes that there are several customer who have not complained when they were served pancakes cooked with margarine rather than butter. However, there are two unstated assumption that the manager overlooked before leading to the conclusion.

First of all, the manager assumes that the customers who have not complained, are “happy” with the switch between the ingredients. It is possible that only a few of those who tasted the pancakes with margarine actually provided the feedback, and many of them could have stopped consuming the cakes from Happy Pancake House after realising that the taste which they previously enjoyed has changes. For example, if a regular customer of Happy Pancake House identifies the difference in the taste of the cake made with margarine, he might have opted for any other Pancake house, rather than providing his feedback to the company. Further, the author generalises that if the 2 percent of people dislike the change, then this percentage will remain unchanged when more number of people taste the cake having margarine. The two points mentioned, weakens the author’s claim that if only 2 percent of the customer have complained, then rest all other customer would be “happy” with the transition.

Second of all, the author’s point that the people served with margarine cakes, who, at the first place, ordered for a butter cake, are completely aware that the pancake is actually containing other ingredient that what they asked for. It might be possible that the customer who ordered the cake, which can possibly differ in taste, is not informed about the change that Happy Pancake House has made in their cake preparation. Even if the taste remains the same in both the cases, it might not be possible for every customer to have nuanced taste sense to identify that there is a change in the ingredients. The author while making the conclusion, does not provide the evidence that whether the consumer where informed about the change. Without a proper justification, author’s point is weakened where he states that the customer who were provided margarine made cakes didn’t complained about the change.

In conclusion, it could be possible that as “low percentage” of people have complained about the change from butter to margarine, the customer do not differentiate between both or refer them with single term. However, as of now, the statement remains flawed as its reliance on various unstated assumptions. If the author is able to provide more evidence, the it might be possible to fully evaluate whether the customers of Happy Pancake House can distinguish between butter and margarine.