Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The technological world saw an immense shift with the innovation of computers, internet and video which helped people to share the content (knowledge, news, or even jokes) with such a speed that was never possible before. Specially, in terms of education they have been a boon as they help in educating students efficiently, as compared to earlier model of cramming. However, their uncontrolled use can take the direction of distracting more than educating the children. I strongly believe that innovations such as video, computer, and Internet have boosted the understanding of every student but, the extent to which they are used determine that whether they be distractive to the students

There are several new teaching mechanisms developed with complete focus on enhancing student’s understanding level. For example, Smart classes, that makes the use of video software, through a computer connected via internet has become the primacy of education system in various countries. It tends to develop better understanding of concepts using interactive diagrams, charts and illustrative figures, as compared to static texts from the books. The level of understanding gained by a student tends is seen be long lasting as compared to restricted bookish knowledge that students often try to cram and pass examinations.

These innovations have also opened various sources from where any student can learn. Now, they can have various point of information, such as different books, video lessons or even different instructors who can share their knowledge globally. This benefit was missing before. It was very difficult for students to gain knowledge outside their fixed curriculum. To exemplify, there are numerous amounts of video lessons available for a student who wish to learn any musical instrument. Before internet, the only way of doing this was to hire an instructor but now, the students can learn even from various professional who have pursued their career in music.

On the other hand, these benefits are targeted at boosting the knowledge that any student can get, but not to replace the entire system of education. Internet is perfused with lots of materials and unwanted content that tends to attract student attention and distract them. One of such instances are the advertisement that is available over the internet. Often the educational websites have ads associated, such as movies or new upcoming games which attracts the student’s attention. Thus, it completely depends on the usage of these technologies which can determine whether they can be helpful or distractive.

In essence, I agree that there is an incomparable advantage provided with the innovation of technologies like video, computer and internet for education of students. However, if there is uncontrolled access to everything available on the internet, this boon of science can affect adversely to the students.