Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

The prompt claims that everybody who lives in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws. Laws are made for the betterment of society. Every country has a constitution to make and to preserve the laws. Without the laws, one can not imagine a modern society in this age. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the prompt for several reasons.

Firstly, the lawmakers of society make laws to reduce anarchy and disorders in society. We should obey these rules and regulations for the betterment of ourselves. For example, in the aboriginal society, there were no laws to obey. Everybody in that society used to do injustice to each other. They used to steal, plunder the property of others. But when laws came forward these kinds of injustice are dramatically reduced. So, laws are important to living happily and safely. Secondly, there are also some unjust laws in our society that are made for the betterment of a few antagonist people of our society. By applying these rules, the higher class exploits the lower class. For example, the higher rate of tax from a middle-class family, the traffic facilities for the higher classes, etc. We should disobey and resist these kinds of laws. These kinds of injustice should not be given the opportunity to rise.

However, laws have some flaws. Sometimes, it can restrain the creativity of the great minds of our society. For example, according to some religious laws in that time of 15th century, the popes burnt the great scientist galileo's research papers and important documents. This incident did great damage of science. That is why laws should be updated according to the new civilization. Laws should be acted beyond the religious and political constraint, but for the betterment of all people of our society.

In conclusion, I have argued in favour of the prompt. Many of these issues can never be resolved to everybody's satisfaction, but in the long run, promoting the idea of obeying just laws and disobeying unjust laws will lead to the betterment of all involved. To assess the merit of a situation or a decision it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors, otherwise, the issue remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.