Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.
In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.
The prompt claims that every individual in a society must follow just laws and disobey and resisit unjust laws. I disagree with the statement
for the reasons described in this essay.
The claim is based on the assumption that everyone in a society is of the same opinion about the laws. In other words, everyone knows what is right and
wrong. But in reality, every individual person has his own perception about the rightneousness of a particular law. If he decides to obey laws which
he thinks are right and disobey otherwise, then we can easily imagine how much chaos it will produce. For example, if in a society the laws is such that
a person should not consume alchol. Now, some people will follow it while some will chose not to. Some people might think that banning alcholo is against their
freedom and they will raise protest against the law. It will lead to waste of time and resources on the society's part then to pacify the protestors. This is one
example but we can fairly see any other law will have the same story. Therefore, the society will be ineffective as there would no be mutual agreement among it's people
about the rules and ethical codes of the society. There will always be some protest going on.
In contrast to the statement, when people are adhering to the laws and rules laid down by the society, it not only allows the society to function smoothly but it
gives the society an opportunity to punish someone who doesn't so that others are not put into difficulty from the miscreant. It's easy to pluck one bad apple
from a group and save the group from degarding. Similary, a society can maintain peace and prosperity by taking proper action against the miscreats. Further, if there
happens to be law which is "unjust", then instead of bluntly rejecting the authority and protesting against it on the streets, people can approach the authority
and present their case with proper reasoning. The leaders can then make right amendments which are more appropriate.
Now, Someone might argue, what if the society makes cruel rules which shouldn't be followed by anyone. If this is the case then people can choose to protest
against the authority. Either they can change it's leader or make the current leader change the law.
In sum, individuals should by loyal to the rules and regulations of the society. A society can function properly only if everyone adheres to the rules
which can happen only when people feels a sense of responsibility towards the society. Only in exceptional cases where the laws are made in
a dictatorial fashion and which are unjust, the society can resist the authority.