A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author predicts that resisdents of Mential will have fewer headaches. To support his claim, the author points to the correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. However, there are several assumptions on which the argument rests weakly. A thorough analysis is required to find out if there any cause effect relationship between consumption of salicylates and reduction in occurance of headaches.

A major assumption in the argument has to do with fact that the study on headaches is representative of the situation of average residents of Mentia. The argument fails to offer any data regarding the participants. How many residents of Mentia participated in the study? If very few residents participated then the results of this study can't convince us that the results are applicable to all the residents. Also, the time period of the study is twenty years; Are we to assume that the same participants continued reporting and they didn't opt out? It very unlikely that a person will continue to report his headaches problem for 20 years. He might have shifted to some differnt city or country? He might be died, Who knows? The point is, if the participants didn't come back to report their headaches even though they still might be suffering from headaches, then the number of reported headaches will obvisouly diminish. In that case, the argument would not be nonsensical.

Not just the validity results of the study are under suspect, the argument has not taken in to account other possible factors which might contribute to decline in average number of headaches reported by study participants. Maybe the participants started living healthy lifestyle or they might have joined some yoga program which helps reducing occurrence of headaches. We don't know. The question that need to be answered is, Did the participants joined any health club or anything which might aid in good health. These alternatives have to be ruled out before we attempt to justify the argument that Salicylates is helping in decline in occurrence of headaches.

Finally, the author predicts that the residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future. The reasoning behind this argument is fallacious. The efficacious effects of a medicine are applicable only when the medicine is consumed in certain quantity. Too much or too less won't be effective. Assuming that the companies do start using Salicylates as flavor additivies for food, we have to know whether the increase in intake of Salicylates will actually be beneficial. We need information regarding the optimal level of Salicylates. Another assumption made here is that people will continue buying food which has flavor additives. Maybe adding such flavor is detrimental to the taste of the food, as a result, the residents might avoid it.

There are several assumptions which if don't hold true renders the argument invalid. Further, the reasoning used in the argument is fallacious.