Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws

nations have created laws that citizens must abide by in order to maintain a civilized society. individuals are responsible for obeying their nations laws, and also for resisting against any law that threatens justice. Historical events such as: the formation of the united states, slavery, and the civil rights movement, give proof that resistance of injustice is effective. without resistance the united states of america, one of the most powerful countries, would not exist.

In the 1600’s there were individuals who wanted freedom from england’s Monarchy. these people traveled and settled in what is now the united states to start a new way of life without rulers. what is now known as the original thirteen colonies was formed and was still governed by its mother country, england. eventually, the people of the colonies did not agree with the laws that england had created for them. they believed it was unjust and resisted. there was a war and it took several years, but without this resistance there would be no united states of america.

The united states would not have been able to become what it as today without slavery. Over the hundreds of years that slavery was used in the united states, eventually people began to understand its wrongfulness. whites in the north had become slave free states and helped slaves to escape from the south. without these individuals realizing and helping to free slaves, slavery could still exist today.

Once slavery became abolished, it did not make everything perfect for the blacks. blacks were still treated as less than whites. blacks were not given any rights that the white individuals had. they were not allowed access to the same opportunities or basic human necessities. individuals such as Martin Luther King Jr. fought to get these equal rights by arguing the laws of the constitution were meant for all people- regardless of race. these individuals are the reason the laws changed and became just.

History of the united states of america provides poof that resistance of unjust laws are a responsibility of society. society needs to not only follow just laws, but make sure that all laws are just for every person. In order for a more perfect society, every person must have equal rights, regardless of race. resist to provide justice for all.