Every individual in the society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws

As a responsible and law-abiding individual, I will majorly agree with the statement, but cannot always endorse because law whether is just or unjust is subjective at an individualistic level.

What is just for one may be unjust for another.

Laws are built at a universal or regional level to help provide decorum, maintain peace and support growth. Let us focus on some laws and understand how it is perceived by individuals with divergent outlook.

Law of Human Rights has been created to provide equality and freedom to individuals irrespective of age, sex, color, nationality to be treated humanely, to enjoy freedom of speech, thought, action, education, to vote and so on. Looking back in history of World War II we find fundamentalist country like Germany under the rule of Adolf Hitler did not recognize this law as just. Under the Nazi regime Jews where stripped off any such rights and was subjected to extreme degradation.

In the same context during the same era Germans like Oskar Schindler condemned the actions of Nazi government and believed in the just law of Human Rights, the rights for Jews to be treated as equal, ended up saving thousands to Jews. Schindler disobeyed the just law of inequality created by the Nazis and acted against the regime.

Another controversial law that has divided the world into conservative and liberal is the Law of Abortion. To a conservative the aborting a fetus is equivalent to committing a crime as macabre as murder while the liberalist thinks it is a pro-choice, any women should be able to determine whether she wants her body to go through the labor of bearing a child.

In case of Law of Abortion numerous factors can influence whether this law is just or unjust at an individual level for example was the individual been subjected to rape, is the individual an underage teenager, will the pregnancy lead to complication of the mother’s health, was it an unplanned pregnancy and so on. In light of the circumstances this law may or may not be just.

In each of the above laws we can see a clear demarcation where one individual refers the law as just but for other the law is unjust. Hence law is very much subjective.

Alike the previous examples there are numerous laws relating to climate change, violence control, ethical business practices, child marriage etc. which are subject to debate while determining if it’s a just law or unjust.

As a responsible human being we should be thinking for the betterment of the society. What is right and beneficial for masses are the laws that should be considered as just. Prolifically creating such laws and universally practicing them and iteratively enhancing them to meet the societies changing outlook is what is desirable.

Of course, along with the just laws we will face unjust laws, but we should debate and contend to see why the laws we consider as unjust are not acceptable to us. Understanding the pro and cons

and think beyond one own righteousness. Raising our voice against unjust laws diligently and

bringing forth to the law makers is every citizen’s right and responsibility. The path that we take

to fight for just laws should be taken thoughtfully and tactfully.

In conclusion it is difficult to decide what is just and what is unjust law. It is subjective, but surely every individual in the society has a responsibility to support and practice laws that helps the nation as whole and not just at the individual level.