Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Laws are generally created to govern the people and maintain civil behavior among the population. I agree with the statement to a large extent.

While it is a person’s responsibility to adhere to the laws set by society or government, resisting unjust laws is equally important for the betterment of society. What would have happened if Mahatma Gandhi had never resisted the unjust salt tax levied by the British on the Indians? The Indians would still live an oppressed lifestyle filled with fear. It was the Dandi March, where Gandhi took salt from the waters near the Gujarat border for free - an act of disobeying an unjust law that gave hope and courage to people to fight against the unjust oppression. Resisting the unjust laws enforced by the British, Gandhi did play a crucial role in securing independence for India in 1947.

On the other end of the spectrum, a responsible citizen must abide by the just laws of the society. What happens when one does not abide by the law? Consider the case of the mass shootings that happened in America recently. Such cases of breach of law not only disturb the mental health of people but also raise questions about what kind of society do they live in. This also leaves an indelible impression on the minds of young people regarding what crimes they can get away with.

While opposing the presented arguments one might argue that the definition of just and unjust is highly subjective and is different for different people. Even the terrorists believe that they are just and morally correct in spreading terror. I agree that “What is just?” is not a question one can answer objectively. However, I believe that every individual in society is also responsible to discern the moral good and bad of the norms of society. Also, every citizen in the society is also responsible for resisting the unjust laws in the most civil manner possible. Imagine the ramifications if Mahatma Gandhi had not adopted a non-violent and civil action plan to disobey or resist the British? That would have inflicted significant pain on society.

To conclude, every individual of the society is not only responsible for obeying just and resisting unjust laws but also for resisting the unjust laws in the most civil manner possible.