Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In recent times, technology has become an integral part of our lives. One can find technology in each and every activity one performs. Technologies like smartphones, the internet, and social networks have brought us close together and made the world a small place. Technological advancements have also introduced new tools to facilitate teaching. While some people feel that the new tools assist students to understand the material better others argue that technology has only distracted students in classrooms. While technology can be distracting, I do not completely agree with the claim as schools have also taken steps to reduce distraction.

New technological tools of video, internet, and computers have transformed the way in which students interact with the study material. Students no longer need to arduously read thick textbooks to gain knowledge. Teachers are using tools like educational videos to impart knowledge in a more interesting manner. The recent developments in augmented reality technologies by companies like MagicLeap have enabled students to actually interact with the digital scientific models like human skeletons, embedded in our reality. Students can now perform chemistry lab experiments in a virtual lab thereby reducing safety concerns. Technology has surely succeeded in grabbing the attention of students in classrooms.

While technology has surely captured students' attention, access to computers and the internet has also had adverse effects. As widely known, the internet is a place with tremendous noise where one can effectively waste hours without realizing it. The unrestricted access to the internet and the ability to play games on computers has served as a distraction for students in the classroom. Many times, students can be caught surfing social media sites like Facebook and Twitter when they are supposed to be going through classroom material. Many students can also be found playing video games on school’s computers instead of using the educational programs available. Unrestricted use of technology in the classroom has agreeably distracted students but schools have taken several steps to mitigate these distractions.

Talking of reducing distraction due to technology in the classroom, the school I studied allowed only restricted usage of the internet. Social media websites like Facebook were banned within the campus premises. The computers in the school also required authorization to install new programs, games thereby ensuring only educational content was accessible using the computers. These steps certainly reduced the distraction in classrooms as students could only access sites and programs relevant to their courses. This way they were able to take advantage of the benefits offered by technology while keeping distractions at bay.

To conclude, it is not the technology itself that distracts students, but how students use the technological tools provided to them to that dictates real learning. There are significant positive effects of using technology in classrooms and many schools do take necessary measures to keep distractions at a minimum. In this context, one can say that technology in classrooms is not distracting if used effectively.