Every nation should require students to study at least one foreign language
from the elementary school level through the university level.
Foreign language study can be a valuable component of a balanced education. So, too, can poetry,
economics, or public speaking. But students are individuals, and live in a wide variety of circumstances around
the world. It is going too far to say that every nation should require its students to study foreign languages.
Different countries have different needs and circumstances. While many bemoan the lack of international
outlook in the U.S., it is reasonable to note that most Americans do just fine speaking only one language. Of
course, universities, prep schools, and other institutions are still free to make foreign language instruction
mandatory, as many do now. In Sweden, however, it is a sound policy to make foreign language mandatory for
nearly everyone; Sweden has an excellent school system, free through the university level, and it is clear that
Swedish is a minority language, and English has actually become the language of international business in
Sweden and throughout Europe. Sweden currently mandates the teaching of English, as it should. If the
government did not compel students to learn English, they would struggle to compete in the global job market.
While Sweden has one of the highest standards of living in the world, many nations simply have no ability to
provide foreign language instruction, nor does it seem as though such instruction should be the top priority. In
many countries, primary schools cost money, and many girls don't get to go to school at all, or must drop out due
to lack of funds, early marriage, or their families’ needing them to work. If female students in Afghanistan are to
receive only a few years of education in their entire lives, it seems absurd to mandate that they learn foreign
languages, as this would be a waste of their time and effort. Individual schools and teachers should be free to
decide how to best use the limited time available.
Finally, not only are nations different from one another, but so are students. Many students have learning
disabilities that make foreign language learning virtually impossible. Even those who don't have such disabilities
have individual differences and interests that should be respected. A scientific prodigy who may go on to cure
cancer or AIDS ought to be permitted to focus solely on science at least at certain levels of his or her education.
For every hour spent learning a foreign language there is an opportunity cost, something else not being mastered.
Of course, virtually everyone is in favor of a more global outlook, and virtually no one thinks that foreign
language study is bad. However, making foreign language instruction mandatory in every nation, at every level of
schooling, is unjustifiable. Different nations have different needs, and different individuals have their own
capacities and goals. Foreign language study can truly open the world to those who partake, but there are many
reasons not to mandate it.