The first step to self-Knowledge is to reject the familiar

The one eager to learn and grasp new things tends to acquire self-knowledge. One who rejects the familiar environment and comes out of their comfort zone has the ability to to gain deep knowledge which comes only by self realization. The prompt suggest that the first step towards self-knowledge is to reject the familiar environment and accept the new things in life. In my opinion, i strongly agree with the author due to two following reasons.

Firstly, the tendency to prohibit things which are familiar will allow an individual to discover new things and accept new aspects in life which might be hard to imbibe for others. Success is achieved not only by hard work but also by getting out of his comfort zone and accept the aspects of life which is rejected by the common. For example, Scientist couldn't invent new concepts and phenomenons if they wouldn't have thought something out of the blue. The confidence, power and mental strength allows a person to think out of the box which may sound rare to others but that's where inventions take place and the whole world accepts the invention gradually. The above example illustrates that a development in themselves can lead to a big change in the entire world.

Additionally, it's not just about a development in oneself but also to have an adaptive attitude to sustain all kind of environment in the society. For example, a person living in a pastoral area where life is easy and smooth but in order to pursue his carrier and dreams he shifts to a busy city where life is fast and where a person is always out of time. In those scenario's a person who has an ability to accept what comes in his life and drive through those time is the one who has achieved material success. The above example prompts that a change and ability to accept is one of the major attribute which determines our self-knowledge.

Obviously, there will be some who argue's that learning in familiar environment is comfortable and a lucid job but the area of learning is very limited. However, in order to learn more one has to reject and contradict the familiar beliefs. One who thrives to learn more has ultimately gained knowledge to the highest level.