The first step to self knowledge is rejection of the familiar

Self-knowledge is the ability of an indvidual to be introspective of themselves. Some people believe that for a person to be self-aware, he/she will have to be conscious of their actions as it relates to others, while others are of the opinion that being self-conscious stems from the ability to discern ones action, especially the unusual habits. However, I believe that for a person to be truly conscious of themself, they will consider different aspect of their lives, particularly the usual habits and compare it with those of others.

First, to scrutinize ones action in order to determine if they are propitious or not, one will have to compare with what others are doing. For instance, the citizens of a nation would not know if their nation id propspering or not if they don't compare it with other countries. Using Nigeria as a case study,citizens who are do not have knowledge of how foreign countries are prospering will beleive that Nigeria is developing because they will only be comparing the development with that of the previous governments. Of course, this reasoning is flawed because they are only accepting what is know to them as the basis of their reasoning. However, a citizen that knows how other countries are faring will know that Nigeria is lagging behind. Hence, it is imperative to accept the unfamiliar to enable a body know exactly where it stands.

Furthermore, being accustomed to a way of life or belief can obviate a person's thinking into believing that his or her way is the best. Like the saying,"one man's custom, is another man's taboo". For example, before the early 19th century, killing of twins in Calabar was considered a norm, until Mary Sclessor campaigned against it and proved that twins were not an omen and subsequently, stopped the killing of twins. The people of Calabar had a flawed knowledge of twins, and if they had not rejected what was considered a norm, they would not have known that killing of twins was equivalent to killing two innocent children.

In conclusion, it is important to be self-conscious of the norm but in order to be knowledgeable about the pros and cons of the norm, it should be compared with the reasoning of another group with open-mind.