The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar

Self-knowledge, by definition, is being aware of ones nature; which includes sociological and psycological behaviour. Some would argue that to know one-self is to reject the familiar. But others would state that repudiation of familiar is not a cogent approach in knowing one-self. After weighing the evidence, it is certain that rejection of the familiar is not the way out in recognizing one-self.

Those who would argue that knowledge about a person is derived when such person repudiate what he or she is used to might point to the fact that indulgence in certain principles will limit the scope of such individual. This scruples serves as a guide to how a person manage affairs, how to react to circumstances, handle an impasse, behave both in formal or informal settings. However, this principles is there to guide an individual so he or she will be aware of inherent efficacy associated within.

A college student is knows more about his or her ability to comprehend rash information at a very short time by making use of the library. This student was able to figure out that quiet environment is suited for him or her because such person has previously exploited reading in a noising environment due to familiarity of such mode of learning.

Furthermore, learning to repudiate how you socialise based on the peer pressure is good so you can know what works for you and what doesn't is plausible one but not the best way to approach such. Develop more on

In conclusion, it's clear that repudiation of the familiar is not an approach to self-knowledge.