The first step to self knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Throughout one's life we are fed with numerous amounts of information right from birth till death. Its up to one's capabilities to soak in the relevant information and gain knowledge about various fields. The author states that the first step to gain this self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar. I agree with the author's statement due to the following three reasons.

Firstly, as humans we tend to find our comfort zones in life and tend to work within them. We always seem to fear getting out of this zone due to the challenges we might face. Right from birth we tend to confine ourselves in this zone. For instance little children seem to enjoy and feel at home with a given set of people. Once the child is presented with a new environment with a different set of people it feels uneasy and fears getting into this new environment. A reccuring theme of this can be seen in the first few days of school, when the child is not willing to get into this new environment. As we develop in our lives our comfort zone gets bigger but still we are confined by it. Although we feel comfortable in it, this zones tends to restrict our abilities. Hence to gain more insights about the world and ourselves we much reject this familiar comfort zone and wander into unknown territories.

Secondly, the rejection of comfort zone tends to hurt in the short run, but in the long run it benefits humans.Suppose we surround ourselves with a certain set of people who never oppose our views or never point certain flaws in our character then we may never will grow. Rather suppose we involve ourselves with a variety of unfamiliar people, we gain to learn a lot. These people might help point certain flaws which we then can reflect on and improve on. This can only be achieved when we reject the familiar.

Thirdly, many people feel that they are happy with the familiar things that they have that they don't tend to learn more. For instance certain individuals might feel that knowing only a particular programming language and doing only certain kind of work is good, but in the long run this might hurt them. In this ever emerging field of technology nothing is permanent and hence soon their work may be obsolete. So unless they learn new thing and dwell outside the familiar skillset they cannot succeed.

Hence, sometimes familiar things help us and benefit us, one must reject these familiar thing to learn more and truly grow as humans. Unless they do this they can get stuck in this zone of familiar things and cannot escape it. Thus the rejection of familiar is indeed the first step to self knowledge.