Sports stars movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility

Role models are personnels that people, either young or old, look up to in an attempt to follow in their footsteps. Most of the times, people select role models for different reasons ranging from their perceived personalities to their successfulness in their careers. Sports stars and movie stars are role models to a lot of young adults and as such, are believed to be modest and responsible so that they can be a positive influence on the society at large. However, this does not explicitly mean that they are mandated to portray themselves as good citizens solely because they are being paid.

Firstly, sports and movie stars worked really hard to be where they are today and it would ludicrous to mandaye that they should be good role models based on the fact that they are being paid to do their jobs. In contrast, they should be encouraged to be in order to have a good, functional society given the number of young adults and children that look up to them. In a recent interview with Ronaldo, a sport star, pointed out that he does not do drugs nor drink alcohol because his dad was an alcoholic. This behavior could influence young adults to abstain from drug abuse and alcohol abuse. Hence, sports starts should be encouraged to be good citizens based on their personal convictions and not because they are being paid.

Furthermore, sports and movie celebrities are the most exposed on the media and they could be face of a societal campaign, so it would be very disappointing when they exhibit a behaviour that contradict that campaign as it would affect the cause they are fighting for. For instance, Jussie Smollette, an American movie star who is always seen fighting for LGBTQ+ rights and racial equality wasinvestigated and discovered that he lied about an incident. This not only affect his career, but it also affected the campaign he was fronting and the innocent people involved. Therefore, movie star does not only represent themselves but are revered by people. So, acting otherwise will be detrimental to a positive cause that could propiet a society.

Some would point out that one of the reasons they are paid so much is to be good citizens,however, I would like to point out that are earned the pay. so they should not be required to perform another obigation.

It should also, be noted that this does not mean that they movie stars and sports stars should not have a life of their own, but they should be cautious of their behavour as they are being looked up to by different class of people in the society who seek to emulate their behaviour.