The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. The explanation for the 20 percent reduction in patient infections is the use of UltraClean soap."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The memo from the director of the hospital avers that the use of UltraClean has led to a significant reduction in patient infection in the hospital. The conclusion was based on the the result from a study that shows that UltraClean killed 40 percent more noxious bacteria than other hand soap, and that there was fewer cases of infected patients in the hospital when UltraClean was been used. However, other factors could be at play, and if so, nullify the conclusion that UltraClean is more effective that other hand soaps.

Firstly, the reduction of 40 percent of harmful bacteria that was reported in the study may not be significant as the study fails to tell the number of bacteria in the study. Furthermore, the bacteria used in the study may be different and if so, the effect of the hand soap across all will distinctively be different. If this is the case, the UltraClean soap may be effective at killing a particular type of bacteria, which was probably used in the study, and may not be effective at killing every other type of bacteria. And as so, it would be erroneous to assume that the UltraClean soap is more effective in killing all type of bacteria.

Furthermore, other factors may contribute to the reduction in patient infection. It is possible that during the cases of reported infection of patients, there was an outbreak of infectious disease and in this new cases, there wasn't. An outbreak of infection may be the reason while there was a relatively high number of patient infection previously compared to the ones being observed now. If this were the case, then concluding that UltraClean accounted for the reduction in infection would be flawed.

Moreover, the type of infection that affected the patients was considered. It is possible that the last infection is more easily spread and contacted that the ones that is currently reported. This could be another reason why there was a decline in the number of reported cases and not necessarily because of the UltraClean wash.

In conclusion, other factors could account for the reduced infection observed in patients, as well as the effectiveness of UltraClean in killing bacteria.