The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp, an anthropologist, in his article based on his recent interviews with children living in a group of islands including a certain island Tertia, brings into question the validity of the conclusion of another noted anthropologist, Dr. Field. He states that his findings proof Dr. Field’s observation-centered approach is invalid, where as his interview-centered method is more accurate. Using observation centered method Dr. Field had found that children of tertia were raised by the whole village. However, Dr. fs interviews reveal that children are more likely to talk about their biological parents, so Dr. F conclusion based on observation was wrong, which ultimately invalidates the whole approach. However, in order for interview-based approach undisputedly superseding observation based approach requires further substantial evidence as discussed below.

First of all, Dr. Fields observation was made two decades ago. Since then various factors may have changed the way of living of inhabitants of tertia. They may have been exposed to outside world to an extent that they have started abandoning long practice ritual of child rearing by the whole family. Therefore, though children today are raised by biological parents, this could have not been the case at the time of Dr. Fs research. So evidence is required to prove tertia’s culture and lifestyle have not been affected in last twenty years. In absence of such evidence, Dr. Fs observation based conclusion could have been correct at the time.

Secondly, Dr. Karp. Needs to prove that talking more about biological parents can be directly attributed to being raised by them. For example, if a child is interviewed, he may often feel inclined to talk about a certain toy or pet. This does not imply anything about being raised by that particular thing. So unless evidence of such attribution is available, Dr. Field can not conclude that Dr. Fields conclusion is wrong. In that cased observation based approach can not be invalidated.

Moreover, even if Dr. Field’s observation based approach is absolutely wrong in tertia, it may not have been wrong in any other cases. Dr. Field needs to provide evidence that tertia is not an exception where observation-based approach did not succeed. If there are other scenarios where observation based approach yields appropriate results but interview based approach does not, than Dr. fields conclusion is severely flawed.

To conclude, Dr. Field asserts his support for interview-centered method of arriving at results based on insufficient evidences. Unless he can provide unassailable proof for the discrepancies discussed, one can not support his conclusion