The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town-Adams Realty and Fitch Realty-Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago, I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

To advise which real estate firm is better for selling a home, the writer has considered some factors, including the number of agents that each agency has, the revenue of agencies and the ability of agencies to sell a home in a short time. In this letter, the writer provides several advantages of Adams Realty over Fitch Realty. However, the argument of the writer based on these three factors is full of assumptions and ambiguities which weakened his argument. His advice is not convincing enough.

According to the first factor namely, the number of agents employed by each firm, the writer has tried to prove that Adams has better and more sufficient manpower resources to sell homes. However, having more agents or working full-time is not an indication of a better home-selling performance. For example, in the letter writer has said that “Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25”. There is no evidence that all agents of Adams have the same performance in selling home. It is possible that some agents of Adams do not have good performance compared to Fitch’s agents. Additionally, the writer has not provided any statistics about the number of sales of each firm, and it is not clear whether or not each agent has been able to cover the maximum of sales monthly. So, the number of sub-agency groups is not a good criterion for the assessment of home-selling performance. The argument mentioned had been more valid if the working report of each agency would have been presented.

The second factor is related to the revenue of agencies. The writer has said that “Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. This data is not enough for the revenue comparison of the two firms. This data is only related to one year. For better comparison, the writer should consider a long-standing sales pattern. For example, he should consider the 10-year sales of each agency. Therefore, the higher revenue of one year is not a good indication for assessment. In other words, the sales figure given had been more acceptable if the writer would have considered the revenue of the two agencies over a longer period.

In the final factor of assessment, the writer has claimed that “Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago, I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month.” We know that the sale of a home depends on many factors, such as the price, the location, the facilities, access to public transportation, the façade, interior decoration of the home and the floor of the home. So, there is one question regarding the writer’s argument. did the two houses sold have the same features? We have to consider that the economic and political conditions have changed after 10 years, and these factors have an important impact on the sales of different things like homes. So, Comparing the sale of the house in the past 10 years with the sale in the present time is completely wrong. Also, the workers in the agencies during the 10 years have gained more experience and they may have more abilities to sell homes. The argument had been more persuasive if the writer would have compared the agencies in recent years and considered the performance of workers in each one.

To summarize, according to the reasons mentioned above, I believe that the arguments of the writer for the selection of Adams as a better firm are not enough and cogent.