The following appeared in a newspaper article about law firms in the city of Megalopolis.

In Megalopolis, the number of law school graduates who went to work for large, corporate firms declined by 15 percent over the last three years, whereas an increasing number of graduates took jobs at small, general practice firms. Even though large firms usually offer much higher salaries, law school graduates are choosing to work for smaller firms most likely because they experience greater job satisfaction at smaller firms. In a survey of first-year students at a leading law school, most agreed with the statement that earning a high salary was less important to them than job satisfaction. This finding suggests that the large, corporate firms of Megalopolis will need to offer graduates more benefits and incentives and reduce the number of hours they must work.

The assertion seems to be valid at first glance; nevertheless, due to some dubious evidence and presumptions, I can't agree with it, unless more convincing facts are given. This is rather a naive or simplistic assumption to offer graduates more benefits and incentives and reduce the working hours to attract them more in large corporate firms than the small, general practice firms. Let us consider the facts in closer detail and identify the various other factors.

The author states that the number in the law school graduates that are working for large firms has declined by 15 percent over the last three years. Also, there is an increase in the number of graduates who are working in small firms. Firstly, the author has not mentioned whether it was a survey or a report which states these statistics. The argument's deficiency is that it does provides an explanation of the statistics given in the newspaper article about law firms in the city of Megalopolis. The author has also not given the number of graduates from law schools. Without an accurate number of graduates working in both the firms, one cannot determine whether there has been an increase or decrease in the percentage.

Furthermore, another understated assumption the argument makes is that the law school graduates prefer small firms over large firms because they experience greater job satisfaction at smaller firms even though large firms offer higher salaries. Job satisfaction cannot be the only reason that the graduates prefer smaller firms with a little less salary. Also, in a survey, first-year graduates agreed with the statement that earning a high salary was less important to them than job satisfaction. They can be numerous reasons on which such decisions may depend.

Yet another of the argument's shortcomings has to with increasing work perks and incentives and reduce the working hours. The mere fact that the findings suggest that large firms do such things that smaller firms, that is why graduates went to work for small firms more than the large firms. There may be a good manager-employee relationship or happy and jovial working environment that keeps the stress away and gives job satisfaction to the graduates that are working for small firms. After all, the statement seems to be blatantly made without scrutinizing.

A careful analysis of the given evidence reveals the loopholes that undermine the argument to a great extent. Not a shred of evidence such as statistics of the law school graduates or other reasons because of why students prefer working in small firms has been advanced to substantiate the logic behind the argument. The following appeared in a newspaper article about law firms in the city of Megalopolis.