Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

The argument is totally flawed because it thoughtlessly assumes to invest sources in unmanned space flights. This is rather a naive or simplistic assumption as it is based only on consideration of a single factor, while totally ignoring the rest. Let us consider the facts in closer detail and identify the various other factors.

The argument assumes that the manned space flight is costly and dangerous. The author provides no specific evidence that the manned flights are really expensive and dangerous too. It may be true but one cannot relentlessly assume that it is true without giving any proof. Manned space flight may be costly but it may be safe than the unmanned space flight. Because the flight crew has control to a certain extent. They can make a decision where it is needed, unlike unmanned space flight. There may be various reasons for the costly and dangerous manned space flights but the author has not provided any of them.

The recent success of a series of unmanned spaces probes and satellites has demonstrated that without the costs and risks the useful information can be gathered. This is another of the argument's deficiency that it provides no information about the unmanned space probes and satellites. There is no evidence of how these unmanned probes and satellites will collect useful information without sending men and women into space. If there is no risk of sending men and women into space then there will be another risk. One cannot assume that the unmanned space flight will be working safely in space by controlling it from million kilometers away.

Yet another of the author's shortcomings has to do with investing the sources in unmanned space. The opinion of the author for investing the sources in unmanned space flight was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine. Only on the basis of the recent success, this opinion was provided. After all, the statement seems to be blatantly made without scrutinizing. In retrospect, it seems precipitous for the author to jump on the conclusion of investing their sources in unmanned space flight only based on a recent success.

Nevertheless, the argument is in effect definitely unreasonable due to several flaws after close scrutiny thought it may appear plausible at first glance. Also, a proper evaluation of the opinion of investing sources in the letter requires more information and pieces of evidence.