Seven years ago, homeowners in nearby Brookville community adopted a set of restrictions on how the community's yards should be landscaped and what colors the exteriors of homes should be painted. Since then, average property values have tripled in Brookville. In order to raise property values in Deerhaven Acres, we should adopt our own set of restrictions on landscaping and house painting.

The argument is totally flawed because it most thoughtlessly assumes that a surge in property values is because of some restrictions on landscaping and house painting. This is rather a naive or a simplistic assumption as it is based only on consideration of a single factor, while totally ignoring the rest. Let us consider the facts in closer detail and identify the various other factors.

Firstly, the author is stating that homeowners living nearby the Brookville community adopted a set of restrictions. About seven years ago, these homeowners decided to follow some restrictions on how their community's yards should be landscaped and also the exterior colors for their homes. The author is saying about the change that had been followed by some people about seven years ago. One cannot guarantee that after seven years, the change will be the same. Many people say that 'Change is the new constant'.

Secondly, the author continued that the average values have tripled in Brookville. There is no such evidence why the average values of homes in Brookville have tripled now. The statement seems to be blatantly made without scrutinizing. The average values of the homes may have tripled because of various factors. It may have increased because of the surge in population or the development of companies. Industrialization also maybe one of the reasons for ballooned average values of homes. Or, many people may be considered Brookville a better place for living. There may be such a myriad number of reasons that the author has not clearly stated.

Another understated assumption the argument makes is that the Deerhaven Acres's committee is planning to adopt their own set of restrictions on landscaping and house painting to raise their property values. The author provides no specific evidence to bolster the plan of adopting the same restrictions. There is no proof that Brookville's property values have ballooned because they restricted the decisions on the landscaping and the exterior colors of their homes. The argument put forth is placed on the premice of adaptation of the same set of restrictions that is incomplete and fallacious.

In a nutshell, then, a proper evaluation of the tripled values in Brookville and to adopt the same restrictions by Deerhaven to increase their property values requires more information and pieces of evidence. The above argument makes unwarranted assumptions that seriously undermine its validity.