The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The newsletter states that engaging undergraduate and graduate students in community services would help them gain real-world working experience and would also help local charities at the same time. The assumption made over here is lacking concrete evidence since engaging in charity work won't necessarily help students since there can be many discrepancies while they would be a part of it.

Firstly, the argument has a vague description of the real-world working experience since there is no proper understanding of what kind of role would be provided by the local charities as well as it's not necessary that they would give them some work where they would have to deal with the clients or have to collect people for the work. This shows how they would lack in providing the students with real-world experience as the role provided to them may vary.

Secondly, the argument doesn't take the students mood into consideration as there would be some of them who would just do the work for completing the graduation since it's necessary for them and this would lead to a lack of enthusiasm and concern which can affect the charities progress at the same time.

Moreover, It's not necessary that all the students can get work in the charities since they didn't mention the number of seats available or the number of charities that would be willing to work with them which would leave some of the students with no work and can affect their graduation.

All in all, there are many factors which are not been considered while making the assumption since it's not necessary that every student would be willing to do the work with full energy, at the same time this would not necessarily help them with the kind of experience the university is trying to provide them.