The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The issue and under discussion call into question what effect an increased advertising would have on potential customers. It is an issue that requires careful consideration of all factors that could enhance or hinder customers from patronizing Super Screen, despite its movies being of good quality, and to what extent increased advertising would impact the customer turnover.

A question that begs asking, is, "what is the nature of Super-Screen's current advertising ?" It would be an effort in futility to increase advertising spending if the problem lies with the means of advertising. Is it using outdated channels to advertise its movies? How many people do we know that interact with their advertisments. Do we have data on the conversion rate of their adverts to visiting viewers. The provided statistics would indicate that it is not working as well as it ought to. So, rather than invest more money into advertising channels that might not be ideal, we ought to propery analyse its current advertising strategy, and seek to improve before dumping more money into it. If its current advertising channels are not working, then, seeking improved advertising strategies might be a more ost-effective approach to improving the number of viewers it gets.

Another issue we ought to consider is the demand for the type of movies being produced. It stands to reason that, regardless of the movie's quality, if its content is not a subject or format that viewers want to watch, the number of people signing up to view it isn't likely to increase anytime soon. Take for instance, monochrome video production went out of style decades ago with the advent of coloured TV. Producing quality black-and-white movies today is unlikely to generate as much interest as it might have commanded in its heydays. A show that caters exclusively to cooking is also less likely to draw in crowds who typically run away from the kitchen. More advertising for a show not a lot of people want to watch would be money down the drain, negatively impacting Super Screen's balance sheet.

In addition, what do we know about the market Super Screen serves. Are there other companies producing similar or better-quality movies compared to Super Screen? A situation where Super Screen is not the top-dog in its niche could explain why it is seeing less-than-expected turnouts for its movies. What is its competition doing differently or better. The answer to these questions could provide alternative strategies for improving its viewer conversion rates.

In conclusion, deciding to improve expenditure on advertising based on currently available information has all the indications of being hasty and myopic. One needs to thoroughly evaluate the current advertising strategies and channels to ascertain that increased spending rather than different startegies and channels is the appropriate course of action. Also, an analysis of the nature of movies produced by Super Screen, as well as its target demographic could provide insights for improving public conversion. Finally, information about competing companies could suggest more cost-effective strategies. So, before taking the leap on more advertising spending, Super Screen ought to look carefully at these issues.