A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Primary and secondary school constitutes the foundation of students journey in college, and influences their eventual career path. During these phases, students discover their prediection for the sciences, arts, maybe business. And while a cursory investigation of the merits of a policy that advocates for all students to follow a standardized curriculum or learning path obtainable all over the country would paint it as laudable, it is a myopic perspective on this issue for two reasons.

First, every student is unique, with his or her own challenges and strengths. The way students process information also varies across a very wide spectrum, from the geniuses to the challenged students. A standardized curriculum, by virtue of its nature, would be most suitable for students who fall within the median of this distribution. How is a student suffering from attention-deficient hyperactive disorder (ADHD) expected to learn at the same pace as the genius student? How is a blind student expected to learn the same sports as a student who can see? These examples demonstratae how the nature and speed of learning is anything but uniform. A homogenous curriculum would put already disadvantaged students in a more precarious position, while forcing precocious students to slow down their learning progress.

Also, the requirements for programs in college are different. Having the same national curriculum implies that students seeking admission into college have the same baseline knowledge. For courses that require a specialized level of knowledge, this is a potentially disastrous state of affairs. Medicine requires students conversant with biology and chemistry, sometimes at the detriment of other subjects like fine arts. On the other hand, a student applying for a Fine Arts major does not need to know how sub-atomic particles interact. A national curriculum smooths out the acuity of these students in the areas where they are supposed to excel in, instead making them learn things they will not need in college and their careers. Rather than advocate for this policy of a homogenous curriculum, diversification ought to be considered the closer one gets to picking a college. Vocational schools are even extreme in that they streamline a student's curriculum way before the student has to think of college, churning out students who are particularly skilled in one particular field.

However, using the vocational institutions as a basis, an argument can be made for how different curriculums can lead to students skilled in one aspect of life who will struggle in order areas. While a medical student might never need to be as good with a pencil as Leonardo Da Vinci, they do need to be able to sketch diagrams and the anatomy of their specimens. However, having a specialized curriculum need not be exclusive of incorporating elements of other fields essential in one's domain. This is not a zero-sum scenario where one can either be a doctor or a passable artist.

In conclusion, no nation should require that all its students study and be tested on the same pre-college curriculum. Students have different abilities and learn at different rates. The requirements of one's college degree and future career might also require one to specialize more in one field than a person pursuing another program would be expected to. However, in all things, moderation is expedient. A baseline curriculum can instead be suggested that covers essential life skills everyone ought to possess, rather than foisting an unfair and dare I say irrelevant curriculum on everyone.