The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any ot

The memo from the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company concluded that more budget should be allocated towards advertising of the movies produced by Super Screen company. The director came to this conclusion based on the evidence that although critics are giving good reviews to the movies, less people attended the movies than in any previous years. While this observation might be true, the conclusion is based on some unwarranted assumptions. And to evaluate the suggestion of the director, three questions must be answered first.

First of all, was any survey conducted on why people are not coming to see the movies? Although, critics have given good reviews for the movies, critics represent only small part of a general public. It might be possible that the story line is good, but the movies lack sensationalism. Perhaps the movies are more informative rather than entertaining, which is why the critics like the movies more than the public. General populations' liking can be very different from the critics. So, to evaluate the validity of the argument the director has provided, he must provide evidence against the scenarios stated above.

Secondly, the director needs to provide evidence that the only factor holding the success of the movies is lack of advertisement. There might be other factors at work which is preventing people from attending the movies. Maybe the theaters that are screening the movies are not accomodating enough for the public. It might be possible that there are not enough facilities in the theaters that other big theaters have. If people are not comfortable while attending a movie, they might be reluncant to visit for the next movie. If any other factors other than advertisement are at play in this situation which is making the public less interested to attend the movies, then the author's argument will be severely weakened.

Thirdly, there might be a chance that the percentage of positive reviews went up due to a decrease in the total number of reviewers. Since, less public are attending the movie, it is possible that the total number of reviewers has also decreased, which resulted in the increase in percentage of positive reviews. Only a small numbers reviewers that are interested came to attend the movie while other critics did not even attend the movie. So, to evaluate the validity of the argument, the author must provide evidence that the total number of reviewers has been constant. Otherwise, his assumption that the quality of the movies are good holds no water.

In conclusion, the recommendation from the director is flawed due to its dependence on several unwarranted assumptions. If the director can provide evidence against the questions or situations stated above in support of his argument, only then it will possible to evaluate the validity of the recommendation.